MSO Celebrates Our Own

MSO Celebrates Our Own - Banner Image

The Manitowoc Symphony Orchestra

Celebrates Our Own

November 19, 2016 | Capitol Civic Centre | 7:30pm

Purchase tickets

Ticket sales are through the Capitol Civic Centre

 Let the Manitowoc Symphony Orchestra dazzle you with creativity as we showcase top-notch talent from within our own orchestra. Woodwind, brass, string and percussion soloists will be featured in selections ranging in style from Baroque to jazz.

A cornucopia of solo numbers with orchestral accompaniment

Suite, Op. 82    Flor Peeters   (1903 – 1986)

Quartet for Four Trombones 

I. Entrata
III. Dans

Jon Winkle, Tiffany Heindl and Mark Hoelscher, trombones
Mike Forbes, tuba


Symphony # 31 in D Major (Horn Signal)   Joseph Haydn   (1732 – 1809)

I. Allegro  

Michelle McQuade Dewhirst, Wanda Braden, Erwin Lackner and Barry Bortz, french horns


Serenade in D, KV 239 (Serenata notturna)   Wolfgang Mozart   (1756 – 1791)

I. Marcia: Maestoso

Carrie Kulas and Joan Geraldson, violins; Jane Bradshaw Finch, viola
Brian Kulas, contrabass; John Aaholm, timpani


Concerto for Two Trumpets and Strings    Antonio Vivaldi   (1678 – 1741)

I. Allegro
II. Largo
III. Allegro

John Daniel and William D. Hampton, trumpets


Concerto for Oboe, Bassoon and Strings    G. F. Haendel ???    (1685 – 1759)

I. Adagio
II. Allegro

Suzanne Geoffrey, oboe and Joshua Fleming, bassoon


Concerto in G for Two Flutes and Orchestra    Domenico Cimarosa  (1749 – 1801)

II. Largo
III. Rondo: Allegretto ma non tanto

Mary Gerbig and Angela Krajnek, flutes


Danse sacrée   Claude Debussy   (1862 – 1918)

Mary Keppeler, harp


The Golden Age of the Xylophone    arr. Floyd Werle & Randall Eyles

Victoria Daniel, xylophone



Double Concerto for Marimba, Vibes and Orchestra*    Emmanuel Séjourné    (1961 – )

I. (Allegro)  

John Aaholm, marimba and Victoria Daniel, vibraphone


Prelude to I Masnadieri Giuseppe    Verdi   (1813 – 1901)

Charles Stephan, violoncello


Concerto for Clarinet, Viola and Orchestra, Op. 88     Max Bruch    (1838 – 1920)

II. Allegro moderato   

Jill Hanes, clarinet and Barbara Beechey, viola


Rolling Boil (2015)  Mike Forbes  (1973 – )

*The Emmanuel Séjourné Double Concerto for Vibes, Marimba and Orchestra is presented by kind authorization of ALFONCE PRODUCTION, 1, Rue Gilbert Morel – 63000 Clermont-Ferrand, France, publisher and copyright holder.

Thank you to these Concert Sponsors:

cityofmanitowoc-logoCity of Manitowoc

Herald Times Reporter

Terra Interests, LLC

Investors Community BankInvestors Community Bank